Girton College Law Society boasts a large network of law and non-law students studying at the University of Cambridge, both at undergraduate and graduate level.

Girton College has a longstanding tradition in the study of the law and we are immensely proud of our distinguished Society members in this field. Girton lawyers have always been pioneers. To mention but a few of our members, the College Visitor, Baroness Brenda Hale is the first female Justice and President of the Supreme Court; Lady Mary Arden, the first female High Court Judge to be assigned to the Chancery Division, recently became a Justice of the Supreme Court; Dame Elizabeth Gloster is the first female judge appointed to the Commercial Court and is a Lady Justice of Appeal; and Baroness Rosalyn Higgins was the first woman who became a President of the International Court of Justice.

Our Society complements a thriving academic environment in Girton with support for career development, networking opportunities and social events.


2020/21: Chloe Hooper (President), Hannah Samuel (Secretary), Karina Poon (Mistress of Moots),  John Mcvea (Treasurer)

2019/20: Gabriel Tan, Iona Branford, Darius NG, Parsa Tonkaboni

2018/9: Nimrah Ashraf, Paddy Garrett, Teh Wen Jin, Clara Parry 

2017/8: Ella Vacani, Chun Hau Ng, Matthew Isaacs, Jennifer Shelley

2016/7: Rory Copeland, Max Dowbenko, Katie McGaughey, Debbie Eliad

The 2017/8 Committee with Baroness Hale